You’ve got to start somewhere

My overarching goal for the next four years is to become a professional runner. Yesterday I would have written the goal as “Elite Runner qualified for the 2016 Olympic trials,” but I just finished reading a paragraph on setting goals by Jack Daniels, PhD.

I have chosen four years as a time frame because I expect it to take me two years to reach collegiate competitiveness. I can already run a 2:54 marathon, so I believe that I am starting with a reasonable amount of experience to justify the two year time frame.

I anticipate updating my progress approximately four times a week on this blog. I will start my training next week. For week one I plan 5 days of easy running. This is part of the Daniels’ plan that I have put together. I am not running this week at all, so that next week will be a clean and fresh start.

Leave a Reply

