Running Plans are Like Diets

I always seem to fail them on the first day. My plan was to run for 30m at a 7:45 pace, instead I did 1h 45m at a 8:26 pace. The run was with a group, which was fun, especially since I haven’t run with them since Thanksgiving. My original concern was that the group was going to run to slowly, but by the last few miles of the run I felt like I was struggling to keep up. I attribute my low energy to a couple of different things. First, I’ve come down with a case of the sniffles over the last few days. Second, I was wearing Newton MV^2 which don’t have good traction, thus I was slipping a fair amount. I will give a full review of the shoes in another post on another day. Third, despite resting up for a week, apparently I am still not fully recovered from a very intense running season this fall.

Leave a Reply

