Progress Report

I doubled up today. I ran 4 miles in the morning and 4 miles in the evening. 30m for each session. I also wore my heart rate monitor for the first time in months. It ever so slightly constricts my breathing, but that is only a problem in races. The second run was on a different course 2000ft above the first run. The perceived effort was greater but my average heart rate was identical. There were a couple of things that were notable.

1.) My average pace was the same for the two of them coincidentally. 7:20 / mile
2.) My average heart rate was identical 169 bpm – this is very high for me considering the pace however-
I drank copious amounts of wine last night on Christmas. The air temperature was uncomfortably cold. I wore too much clothing and was sweating like crazy.
The footing was slippery.

Last week I ran 50.9 instead of the desired 55. I’m not quite sure how I miscalculated by 5 miles. It doesn’t matter too much though for the first week of assigned mileage. I shouldn’t have a problem hitting 55 this week. The legs are feeling strong and want to run faster, I’m throttling back to be at 7:20 and focusing on quick leg turnover and good upper body positioning.

With the new years I will add in the much needed dietary training to go along with the running. I haven’t quite decided what I’m going to do. I’m reading a book called Good Calories Bad Calories by Gary Taubes. There is an excellent overview of the ideas behind the book in this podcast here, by the economist Russ Roberts. I will either switch to a low glycemic index diet or a gluten free diet. I’ve gone gluten free before just for kicks and I’m not sure I have the will power to do it again. I didn’t feel any different after two months of craving bread. If I go GF at least I will have the solidarity of my triathlon friend who is going to do it and my mother and sister who have been doing it for years.

Oh and I test drove the Nissan Leaf today, Cool!

Leave a Reply

