Let the base training begin

Well after all the diet stuff I’m back to my typical don’t go anywhere for long weight of 155 lbs. (I only made it 54 hours for my waterfast). I’m going to try to become “nutritionally ketotic” over the next couple of weeks. Following the example of this awesome MD. Peter Attia ( http://waroninsulin.com/how-a-low-carb-diet-affected-my-athletic-performance) .

I raced the 1500 and forgot to wear my watch! 4:42 running alone and with no big clock. I definitely had a little more in me to get the 5 min mile but had no idea what my pace was. Next time! I totally forgot that I had a 12km race the day before so I sand bagged that race to stay fresh for the 1500.

I’m going to start the Daniel’s Elite Marathon training program soon. (24 weeks until NYC Marathon!) While I was doing the 5-15 km plan I didn’t incorporate the cross training prescribed. For this plan I will. I’ve been doing 2x workouts per day mixing: swimming, cycling, elliptical, rowing, weights, and RUNNING.

I would like to hit 100 mpw before reaching phase 2 of the plan. However for the rest of the plan I intend to max the miles at 80 mpw. For the last plan my mileage goal was 70 mpw peak which I reached and sustained for 5 weeks but wasn’t able to hold it. The marathon plan is bit different in the respect that you don’t stay at the peak miles for weeks on end.

There is an aspect of my running I don’t think that I’ve mentioned before… I’ve been giving blood every other week since the end of March on doctors orders. I know that this has affected things a bit but I chose to treat it as normal rather than abnormal.

I LOVE RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

