24 Weeks ’till NYC Marathon

Sunday was the official day to begin the marathon training. I did a 40 mile bike ride and a 9 mile hike with 1000s of feet of elevation, no running. Monday I tried to go for a run around my neighborhood but found that my right Achilles would have none of it. It has been getting slightly worse over the last two weeks. It is still at the point where if I force the run I’m ok by the end. I need to start my marathon training strong not week though so I am pushing back the running for a few days. I’ve been trying to only run flats over the last two weeks but peer pressure has lead me to run track sessions and hills. In a rather desperate attempt to speed the recovery I am wearing shoes with arch support all of the time instead of kick the shoes off and going barefoot.

This Achilles problem feels and reacts slightly and subtlety different from all other Achilles problems that I’ve had. I think that before I’ve had tendinitis and now I have tendinosis (or perhaps versa vicee). I hope I can clear it up as fast as I have in the past. So yesterday instead of running on a beautiful day I spent it at the gym on the elliptical. At least today I got a nice bike ride in.

Leave a Reply

