MPW is growing

This weeks was the start of phase II of the Daniel’s Marathon Training formula. It is going to be interesting to see how this goes since officially I never completed phase I. I think that I will be able to manage my peak mileage goal of 80 mpw. This week 64 miles are scheduled with two quality days. I completed Q1 on Tuesday. In the last 7 days I’ve done 47.7 miles, but when you measure the miles for last calendar week it was only 24 miles. That seems like a terrible low number for jumping up to 64 miles this week but for the month I’m averaging 40 mpw.

I’m relatively injury free. Still some strange feelings going on in my right Achilles but I have full mobility of the ankle joint and I’m doing rehab exercises so I’m not terribly worried. The intensity of my runs is nowhere near where I would like it to be. I blame that on my wonkie ketosis diet.

I just received and read the book, “The Art and Science of Low Carbohydrate Performance,” by Volek and Phinney. I’ve learned many interesting things about why I’m having so many troubles with my exercise on the low carb diet. Basically I need to got for 2-6 weeks without having a cheat day that bumps me out of ketosis. My brain and muscles are competing for ketones and the muscles need to adapt to running on lipids. I probably screwed myself eating out at an Ethiopian restaurant last night. I didn’t eat any of the angina, ordered a meat dish, and drank water. However, I did haves some spoonfuls of lentils, corn, other brown substance, cabbage, and a piece of potato (the potato was an accident.)

Some other mistakes in my diet has been having too many nuts per day, not enough protein, and eating dinner even though I haven’t been hungry at night. Yesterday before Ethiopian I had a B-Ketone level of 1.7 mM/L and the day before 2.2 mM/L. These are representative of the levels that I should be at on a daily basis if I want to reap the athletic benefits of the low carbohydrate diet. Most of the past few weeks I’ve been in the 0.5 – 1.4 mM/L range.

I’m about 1/2 way through the Haile Gebrselessie book and enjoying it tremendously.

Leave a Reply

